Choose your Country and language
Choose your Country and language
Home/Courses/ITIL 4

Certification ITIL 4

ITIL® is the most widely accepted approach to IT Service Management in the world. The ITIL 4 certification scheme provides comprehensive, practical and proven guidance for establishing a service management system, providing a common glossary of terms for businesses using IT enabled services.

ITIL 2019: from ITIL v3 to ITIL v4 (ITIL 4)

ITIL is the most widely accepted approach to IT Service Management in the world, and is used globally by millions of practitioners.
For over 25 years, ITIL has been providing organizations with a practical guidance to improve IT services. ITIL is fundamental to businesses, enables transformation and helps organizations realize value.

ITIL is currently evolving from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4 – the update is the result of feedback and insights from thousands of professionals and organizations globally.
IT is at the core of every business in today’s world. The update allows ITIL to reflect the fast-paced and complex environment we now live in, as well as new ways of working and emerging practices. All of these are essential not only for ITSM professionals, but for a wide range of professionals working in the digital transformation world.

The ITIL 4 framework is built on established ITSM practices and expands itself to the wider context of customer experience, value streams and digital transformation, as well as embracing new ways of working, such as Lean, Agile, and DevOps.

ITIL 4 expands on previous versions by providing a practical and flexible basis to support organizations on their journey to the new world of digital transformation. It provides an end-to-end IT/digital operating model for the delivery and operation of tech-enabled products and services and enables IT teams to continue to play a crucial role in wider business strategy.

ITIL 4 training: the new certification scheme

There are four certification levels within the ITIL 4 scheme:

ITIL4_certification itil v4

As for the ITIL v3 Certification Scheme, candidates need the ITIL Foundation qualification to have access to further modules.
To obtain the designation ITIL Managing Professional or ITIL Strategic Leader, the candidate must complete all modules in each stream, with ITIL Strategist being a universal module for both streams.
In order to be eligible to become an ITIL Master, end-learners must have both the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) designations.

ITIL 4 Streams

After the ITIL 4 Foundation certification candidates can choose between two different streams:

  1. ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP)
  2. ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL).

The Managing Professional stream provides practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful IT-enabled services, teams and workflows.
ITIL 4 Managing Professional consists of four modules:

  1. ITIL Specialist: Create, Deliver & Support
  2. ITIL Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  3. ITIL Specialist: High Velocity IT
  4. ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve (universal module).

The Strategic Leader stream recognizes the value of ITIL, not just for IT operations, but for all digitally-enabled services. Becoming an ITIL SL demonstrates that the individual has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.
ITIL 4 Strategic Leader consists of two modules:

  1. ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve (universal module)
  2. ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy.

ITIL v3 training

All the modules of the ITIL v3 certification scheme are still available: Axelos won’t dismiss ITIL v3 before June 2020. If you are interested in organizing an ITIL v3 in-house training, contact us.

ITIL v4 Foundation Course

Find out more about ITIL Foundation

ITIL v4: discover all the news

download your free copy!

More info

Do you need further information about ITIL certification? Do you have any doubts about ITIL certification V3 or V4?

Contact us by filling in the form.


Go to Top